Max Verstappen capped a dominant F1 season with a record-extending 15th win of the year at the Abu Dhabi Grand Prix. 

Verstappen, who secured the championship with four races to spare, turned in an utterly untouchable performance out in front in what will go down as one of the most impressive title victories in F1's recent history. 

The previous record of most victories in an F1 season was 13, jointly held by Michael Schumacher and Sebastian Vettel.  

Teammate Sergio Perez was unable to capture a one-two in the drivers' championship for Red Bull, falling 1.3s short of catching Ferrari's Charles Leclerc for second in the final laps. 

In a year Ferrari has been criticised for poor strategy calls it was a risky one-stop strategy which was key in holding on to position.  

"Yes baby, we got it... at least," Leclerc said to Ferrari after the race on the radio. "Good job boys, really good race."

Carlos Sainz was fourth in the other Ferrari. Sainz caught and passed Lewis Hamilton with five laps left as the Mercedes driver appeared to encounter a hydraulics issue in his car, which caused him to drop down the order and retire from the race. 

It officially ended Hamilton's record of 15 consecutive seasons of scoring at least one race victory every season. 

George Russell finished ahead of McLaren's Lando Norris, Alpine's Esteban Ocon and McLaren's Daniel Ricciardo. 

Vettel finished 10th in his final race before retirement, scoring the final championship point of his career.

The Aston Martin driver, a four-time world champion, did donuts at the end of the race.

Abu Dhabi Grand Prix: Final result
1) Max Verstappen, Red Bull
2) Charles Leclerc, Ferrari
3) Sergio Perez, Red Bull
4) Carlos Sainz, Ferrari
5) George Russell, Mercedes
6) Lando Norris, McLaren
7) Esteban Ocon, Alpine
8) Lance Stroll, Aston Martin
9) Daniel Ricciardo, McLaren
10) Sebastian Vettel, Aston Martin