GJA reveals category for 2019 Media Awards


The Ghana Journalists Association (GJA) Wednesday announced categories for the 2019 Media Awards. Mrs Linda Asante-Agyei, Vice President, GJA, said the awards, slated for November 2020 would have eight categories.

They are; Category one (separate awards for radio, television, print and online) includes news reporting, sports, education, features, and small scale illegal mining.

Category two (print and electronic) included investigative reporting, photojournalism, arts or entertainment, domestic tourism, business/finance and economic reporting, small and micro scale enterprises, environment, health, development journalism for furthering the Sustainable Development Goals, child protection and participation and crime and court reporting.

The rest were: human rights, political reporting, sanitation and hygiene, disability, ICT and digital journalism (including blogging), anti-corruption, science, oil and gas, adb special award for agriculture, rural reporting, WASH, telecommunications and transport / Road Safety.

Category three included Best Columnist, Best Radio Morning Show (Akan), Best Radio Morning Show (English), Best Radio Station (Akan), Best Radio Station (English), Best Newspaper and Best Online.

READ ALSO: Criminalise vote-buying in internal party elections and primaries – Occupyghana

Category four had the Best Regional Radio Stations.

Category five includes Best Radio Political Talk Show (Akan), Best TV Political Talk Show (Akan), Best Radio Political Talk Show (English), Best TV Political Talk Show (English) and Democracy and Peace Building.

Category six are: Best Radio / T V Programme (Akan), Best Radio / T V Programme (Dagbani), Best Radio / T V Programme (Ewe), Best Radio / T V Programme (Ga) Best Radio / T V Programme (Hausa) and Best Radio / T V Programme (Nzema).

Category seven, which is exceptional COVID-19 coverage includes Best Radio Station (Akan), Best TV station (English), Best

Reporter (Akan), Best Reporter (English), Best Programme (Akan) and Best Programme (English).

Category eight are: Komla Dumor Most Promising Young Journalist and Professor P.A.V. Ansah Journalist of the Year.

The Vice President said the competition was opened to members working in the print (News Agency inclusive), electronic and on-line media in the country and that members of the National Executive and the Awards Committee were not eligible to contest.

She said entries should cover works published from January 1, 2019 to December 31, 2019; and that entrants should submit not more than three published works in total; however, one work should not be entered in more than one category.

The Vice President said entrants were also to submit a clear original published work and five photocopies of each entry and that all entries must show the date of publication/broadcast and the medium in, which the work was published.

Mrs Asante-Agyei said, News Agency stories carried by the conventional media or on the Internet shall be considered as published.

She said Radio and TV entrants should submit one audio recording (CD/DVD) in addition to the five authenticated copies of the original broadcast script; and that photographic and cartoon entries would be subjected to the same requirements as print entries.

The Vice President said every entry should clearly indicate the category of competition and must bear the name, address, and telephone number of the entrants.

She stated that under category eight – Most Promising Young Journalist and Journalist of the Year, the GJA members and the public were invited to nominate candidates, giving reason(s) for their nomination in not more than 120 words.

The deadline for the submission of entries is 5:00 p.m. on Friday, September 9, 2020.

Entries or Nominations should be addressed to:

The Chairperson,

GJA Media Awards (2019) Committee,

Ghana Journalists Association,

P.O. Box GP 4636 Accra

Entries may also be uploaded online on www.gjaawards.com or be delivered direct to the Ghana International Press Centre, Accra.