Oman travel-bans Ghana, other African countries due to covid fears


As gathered by GhanaTalksRadio; in order to curb the spread of the coronavirus, the Gulf States of Oman have suspended inbound passengers from Ghana for 15 days.

This measure is set to kick into action on Thursday, February 25, 2021. This announcement was targeted at eight African countries, which include Ghana, Sudan, South Africa, Nigeria, Tanzania, Ethiopia, Guinea, and Sierra Leone. However, Brazil and Lebanon are the only non-African countries affected by this measure.

This decision also affects people arriving from other places if they have transit through suspended countries within 14 days before applying to for entry into the Sultanate.

According to the Sultanate’s Coronavirus Task Force, Omani citizens, diplomats, health workers and their family members are exempt from this suspension.

Oman’s Ministry of Health stated a few weeks ago that earlier this month, especially travelers from East African countries were importing the virus. At the time, they implied that Tanzania was explicitly prohibited before finally coming hard at the aforementioned countries with full force.