Sweden joins other nations in banning Huawei and ZTE from 5G network


Sweden has become the latest nation to ban the Chinese telecoms groups Huawei and ZTE from its 5G network, saying doing otherwise would “harm security”.

The ban is in line with new legislation that entered into force in January 2020, following an examination by the Swedish armed forces and security service “to ensure that the use of radio equipment in these bands does not cause harm to Sweden’s security,” the Swedish Post and Telecom Authority said in a statement.    

READ ALSO: Deutsche Telekom oppose barring Huawei from Germany

Huawei, the world number two in mobile phones and a market leader for next generation 5G equipment, and ZTE will also have to remove any existing installations by January 1, 2025.    

READ ALSO: Pompeo applauds Britain on decision to drop Huawei

The United States alleges Chinese firms are used to spy for Beijing — allegations which China denies — and has piled pressure on allies to cut Huawei from their internet infrastructure.

Britain in July banned mobile providers from using equipment made by Huawei in their new 5G networks, and gave companies in the UK until 2027 to remove Huawei equipment.    

France has also placed heavy restrictions on the use of equipment by Huawei.    

Tuesday’s ban came as PTS announced it had approved four applications for Sweden’s 5G spectrum auctions planned to start on November 10.     

The four companies, all Swedish, are Hi3G Access, Net4Mobility, Telia Sweden and Teracom.